Runaway October

Delving into the crazy world of crafts, cooking and kids…

Potato Soup January 18, 2008

Filed under: Cooking — Katie @ 10:50 am

I’ll have to admit that I saw this recipe on TV one night during a midnight nursing spree. Unfortunately for me I had forgotten my robe and it wasn’t my belly that was being filled with warm goodness. So as I sat there shivering (seriously! It had to be 60° in the house at the time) I watched Sam the Cooking Guy make this super easy soup and decided I must have it.

Potatoes

Of course I didn’t have all of the ingredients, except for potatoes. When I told Matt what I was planning on making I could see his eyes kinda fall. He’s gotten smart enough to not let his face fall anymore. But he trudged on, like a trooper, to the store and back and ate my soup like it was directly feeding his starving soul. Lo and Behold, it was amazing! It was like eating thin mashed potatoes with all the goodies, but BETTER! The cream just gives it an extra oomph, I think.

Potato Soup (adapted from Sam the Cooking Guy)

Ingredients

  • 5 pounds baking potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 big red onions, diced
  • 4-5 cups chicken broth, diced – just kidding I normally use just enough to cover the potatoes when boiling, so this may vary)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 cups whipping cream
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 3 tablespoons fresh chopped parsley
  • Diced Ham or Sausage (because it’s not considered a meal in my house without meat in it {insert eyeroll}) (optional)
Directions

  1. Put potatoes in large pot, cover with chicken broth and simmer until soft, about 15 minutes
  2. Saute onions in butter and cayenne until softened
  3. Add about 3/4 of the onions, whipping cream and parsley to potato pot
  4. Continue cooking the remainder of the onions until crispy and black – but not burnt. Reserve for garnish.
  5. Simmer on low about 5 more minutes until it thickens a bit
  6. With potato masher, mash some of the potatoes in the pot while it’s simmering – just for fun. The more you mash, the more it will thicken up
  7. Serve in bowls with a selection of the following toppings – add whatever other ones you’d like too
  • Crispy bacon pieces
  • Thinly sliced green onions
  • Croutons or even crouton remnants – from the bottom of the box
  • Crispy thin Asian noodles
  • Shredded cheese – cheddar works nicely
  • Any hot sauce you like
  • Diced leftover chicken
  • Whatever else you can think of – just look in the fridge

This recipe makes alot, 10-12 servings, so feel free to cut down the amount of ingredients if you’re not feeding the entire Horde.

 

Leave a Reply

