Runaway October

Delving into the crazy world of crafts, cooking and kids…

Homemaking Meme January 22, 2008

Filed under: Life,Parenting — Katie @ 8:32 pm

I snagged this homemaking meme from Trail Mix.

Copy it to your own blog and leave a comment.

Aprons – Y/N? If Y, what does your favorite look like?
Oh yeah! I’m totally digging on aprons. Unfortunately I only have a $2 special from Ikea right now, but I have plans to make/acquire many many more. Once I no longer have a small person strapped to my chest 24 hours a day I’ll be rockin’ me some aprons. I’m also hoping to make a bunch for the kids, maybe it’ll help me save on stain lifters.

Baking – Favorite thing to bake
I love to bake, with my favorite being something new or fudge, although fudge isn’t really baking. I love the holiday season because it gives me an opportunity to just go nuts.

Clothesline – Y/N?
I made Matt hang up one of the nice retractable ones, but my mom was doing the wash at the time and I wasn’t going to make her use a clothesline if she didn’t want to. Now I’m home and the clothes line has come unsecured from the wall and Declan thinks it’s his pulltoy. This reminded me that I do need to get it back up soon, especially for sunning my cloth diapers.

Donuts – Have you ever made them?
No, not sure if I have the urge either.

Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day
Uhh… wake up? I do straighten the family room every morning though

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
We have two fridge/freezer combos, but I would love a separate deep freeze too.

Garbage Disposal – Y/N?
Yes, but it doesn’t get much use I guess.

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
Teh Intarwebs. And my mom. If I have any questions I rely on both.

Ironing – Love it or hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
Meh, I’m a slow ironer and sorta wrinkly clothes don’t bug me or Matt, so…
I do love freshly pressed clothes though.

Junk drawer – Y/N? Where is it?
Yep, 2.5, located in the kitchen.

Kitchen – Color and decorating scheme
Uhm, standard tract home white, outdated cabinets and pinky beige tiling. It’s a rental so it goes to say that I don’t like any of it.

Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?
Not having to get dressed if I don’t want to? I’m new to being a S/WAHM so I haven’t quite got into the swing of things but I so look forward to the day when everything is relatively organized home and when sudden company doesn’t cause a mad rush to stuff the dirty dishes in the oven and close all the bedroom doors.

Mop – Y/N?
Yes, we own several. I or my mother mops. Matt refuses to without one of those fancy wringer buckets.

Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
Well, the few pair f tights I own have been shrunk to small so now they just hang out in the panty drawer and taunt me every chance they get.

Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check?
It has a window, but the light doesn’t work. The oven light hasn’t worked on the last 4 ovens I’ve had. Thankfully I usually put something in the oven and forget until the timer goes off. Whether I remembered to set the timer is another story.

Pizza – What do you put on yours?
Pepperoni, or Ham and Pineapple. Sometimes I crave mushroom and onions but Matt vetoes the mushrooms.

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
I internet it up if there are no sleeping children in my bedroom, or nurse and play video games at the same time. Hey! I’m stuck on the couch as it is, might as well take advantage of the xBox 360.

Recipe card box – Y/N? What does it look like?
No, mostly they’re in my del.icio.us account, but I do have my eyes on this cute little number in aqua. My mom had a similar one full of old recipes but sadly I believe it is long gone.

Style of house – What style is your house?
Standard late 90’s stucco and chicken wire tract house. A touch of southwesterny, but mostly cookie cutter style.

Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?
I’d love to have more, but it seems kinda pointless as I’d have to change it 3 times a day.

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
Definitely not organized, but we do strive to keep all toxic-ness out of the house completely.

Vacuum – How many times per week?
5 or 6 at least. Declan and Fable track in gravel like no tomorrow.

Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
If I was smart I’d do a load a day, but because I’m lazy it’s more like 1 load one week and 10 the next. I hate folding.

X – Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
Yes, but it’s a large running list, not necessarily a daily thing.

Yard – Y/N? Who does what?
Yes, the dog and boy tear it up, and Matt is supposed to have yard duties.

Z – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Making sure everyone is fed, clean and has enough covers. πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “Homemaking Meme”

  1. trailmixup Says:

    LOL Does waking up really count as a homemaking job? Hurray, I’ve always got at least one covered. And I always managed to get dressed, too – thank God for Flylady! πŸ™‚

  2. Katie Says:

    Well, if I never got out of bed I think things would come to a grinding screeching halt. That ruckus would of course wake me up, so it wouldn’t be pretty. Clothes are usually unnecessary in Arizona too and the less we wear, the less laundry I have to do. It’s a tough cycle. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

