Runaway October

Delving into the crazy world of crafts, cooking and kids…

Reversible Shoulder Bag January 26, 2008

Filed under: Crafting — Katie @ 4:32 pm

I’ve been needing a new purse for a long time. Nothing in the stores really catches my attention, and the purses that do – a la Etsy – are expensive, though so worth it. I see so many cute designs and think to myself I could make that!

Since money has been tight I pushed those thoughts away for the time being. Last week I was hemming some Ikea curtains, including a set whose fabric pattern I just absolutely love. I should have bought like more sets before they were discontinued. Then I came along this cute and super easy pattern by Lula Louise. I knew then that I was going to make me a purse.

Reversible Shoulder Bag

I started to put the pattern together and realized that it made a very large bag, so scaled it down to 50%. For me a larger bag means more unnecessary stuff to tote around. I did keep the original strap length though.

Reversible Shoulder Bag

Once I figured out the pattern and got some spare time it took about 2 hours, taking frequent breaks to quiet the sleeping newborn fussing in my front carrier. It’ll be super quick to make any additinal bags.

Reversible Shoulder Bag

Because I scaled it down so much some of the topstitching was very difficult to reach but the size ended up being perfect. 🙂

Mom?

Happy Crafting!

 

Leave a Reply

