Runaway October

Delving into the crazy world of crafts, cooking and kids…

Ponderings February 16, 2008

Filed under: Crafting,Life,Parenting — Katie @ 9:59 pm

It’s raining again. While it’s so amazing to have this much rain in Arizona, it kinda ruins plans… like my plan to get Declan dressed and let him roam the backyard with Fable all day. Yeah, that didn’t happen. We did all go to the grocery store today. I had the boys in their matching Skullys and we were approached and told that I should sell them. Do you think anyone would buy a “recycled” hat? Maybe they’ll sell better because they are recycled?

Matt and I talked about getting some things posted to my Etsy store, but this is where I must make a heartfelt plea. If any of you are considering purchasing anything for us, please let it be a new digital camera. There’s no way I could sell anything with the low quality pictures that my mom’s camera takes. Well, I could try I guess. You can find our “chosen” cameras in this post or view My Wists in the sidebar (but anything that takes crisp pictures will do), or if you have any artistic ideas to make my current photos work please let me know! I’d greatly appreciate it. 😀

Oh yes!! I must post about my Valentine’s. We’re tight on money, so we decided to make all of our gifts, something we really should strive to do anyway. Matt got his favorite dinner and an IOU for his favorite cookies – Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. I got a beautiful card and a program. Yep, a program from my in-house lovable Linux guru/nerd. See?

Love Number

Isn’t that just the sweetest thing!?

If there are any fellow nerds out there who’d like the source code for the program, lemme know. You should be able to figure it out yourself though.

We’re supposed to get our taxes done soon, and we’re already daydreaming about what to do with the return money. Reality is telling us that we need to keep it and just use it to live off of but we can always dream big right?

In all honesty though I am hoping that both Matt and I can splurge a little on ourselves. I really really really would like to get my hair done again. I was secretly hoping that Matt had some how found a hairstylist and befriended them before Valentines in hopes of finagling a free cut and color out of it. Alas, it did not happen and my mane of bi-color curly locks still hangs sadly from my head. I’m afraid to chop it myself. :S

I also have a running list of projects I’d like to complete, including but not limited to:

  • New Ironing Board Cover
  • Clothes Pin Bag
  • Something for my nephew that his mom wont tear up or throw away. His birthday is soon
  • Some more “recycled” items
  • Duct-Tape dressing form
  • Apron (or two)
  • Try out some of the BurdaStyle patterns, as well as some vintage patterns, I’ve acquired. I think I’m on a jumper bender. I’m afraid to find out if Jumpers will work with my body shape or not.
  • Don’t tell anyone, but I also am slowly piecing together ideas for a quilt. Get it… piecing? Ha!

Don’t hold your breathe though, things take time in this house. 😀

On my final note, I’d like to leave you with this link. Have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

